Open Door Pedagogy Network

Open Door Pedagogy Network

The new Open Door Pedagogy Network is made up of a few faculty in each CLA department who are available to colleagues for informal discussions about teaching.

Teachers of all ranks are encouraged to drop in for casual conversation and advice, especially in relation to inclusion, academic freedom, and handling challenging classroom situations.

Find Network members in your department

The Open Door Pedagogy Network emphasizes that we are all at different stages on our paths, and its members offer judgement-free support for improving practice, awareness, and knowledge of cultivating inclusive, anti-racist learning environments and teaching practices that support their own and students’ academic freedom in the classroom.

See the teaching and learning resources for the Network

Open Door Pedagogy Network
mint-arrows-content-break

About the Network

The Open Door Pedagogy Network began in fall 2020 as part of the 2020 Initiative. It aims to foster community, mentorship, and mutual support by providing infrastructure for teachers connecting with teachers. It hopes both to support faculty who might be wrestling with a specific problem or incident, and also to “support the supporters” with a college-wide conversation on the nuances of powerful and equitable teaching.

Members participate in an orientation meeting where they learn about available resources and share ideas for encouraging the pedagogy community in their departments and in CLA. A final meeting at the end of the academic year provides members an opportunity to share their experiences. Throughout the academic year, training opportunities supported by the Dean's office are also made available to them.

The goal is to cultivate a network of established faculty who commit to staying up-to-date on teaching methods and approaches; who are willing to be available to their colleagues to drop in and discuss these kinds of issues; and who share ideas, experiences, and information with other colleagues across the College.

Members were selected based on their teaching experience, training, area of expertise, and willingness to serve.

Network members provide opportunities for informal conversations only. They do not provide official determinations about CSU policy, legal advice, grievances, or formal action.

Contact the Network Coordinator, Rosa Mikeal Martey at rosa.martey@colostate.edu if you have questions.

yellow-arrows-content-break

Open Door Pedagogy Network Members 2020 - 2021

Open Door Pedagogy Network Members  
Name Department Email
Kate Browne Anthropology kate.browne@colostate.edu
Andrew Du Anthropology andrew.du2@colostate.edu
Connie Fellmann Anthropology connie.fellmann@colostate.edu
Claire Chien Art & Art History claire.chien@colostate.edu
Roberto Muntoreanu Art & Art History rmunt@colostate.edu
Kari Anderson Communication Studies karrin.anderson@colostate.edu
Elizabeth Williams Communication Studies elizabeth.a.williams@colostate.edu
Alex Bernasek Economics alexandra.bernasek@colostate.edu
Anita Pena Economics anita.pena@colostate.edu
Genesea Carter English genesea.carter@colostate.edu
Virginia Chaffee English virginia.chaffee@colostate.edu
Ryan Claycomb English ryan.claycomb@colostate.edu
Sue Doe English sue.doe@colostate.edu
Ricki Ginsberg English ricki.ginsberg@colostate.edu
Nancy Henke English nancy.henke@colostate.edu
Cindy O'Donnell-Allen English cindy.odonnell-allen@colostate.edu
Ray Black Ethnic Studies ray.black@colostate.edu
Roe Bubar Ethnic Studies roe.bubar@colostate.edu
Eric Ishiwata Ethnic Studies eric.ishiwata@colostate.edu
Leisl Carr Childers History leisl.carr_childers@colostate.edu
Ann Little History ann.little@colostate.edu
Jared Orsi History jared.orsi@colostate.edu
Michelle Ancell Journalism & Media Communication michelle.ancell@colostate.edu
Tori Arthur Journalism & Media Communication tori.arthur@colostate.edu
Marilee Long Journalism & Media Communication marilee.long@colostate.edu
Peter Erickson Languages, Literatures and Cultures peter.erickson@colostate.edu
Mohammed Hirchi Languages, Literatures and Cultures mohammed.hirchi@colostate.edu
Andrea Purdy Languages, Literatures and Cultures andrea.purdy@colostate.edu
Katie McShane Philosophy katie.mcshane@colostate.edu
Ken Shockley Philosophy kenneth.shockley@colostate.edu
Pamela Duncan Political Science pamela2.duncan@colostate.edu
Marcela Velasco Political Science marcela.velasco@colostate.edu
Forest Greenough School of Music, Theatre and Dance forest.greenough@colostate.edu
Madeline Harvey School of Music, Theatre and Dance madeline.harvey@colostate.edu
Saffron Henke School of Music, Theatre and Dance saffron.henke@colostate.edu
Andrew Knight School of Music, Theatre and Dance andrew.knight@colostate.edu
Seth Pendergast School of Music, Theatre and Dance seth.pendergast@colostate.edu
John Pippen School of Music, Theatre and Dance john.pippen@colostate.edu
Tara Opsal Sociology tara.opsal@colostate.edu
Elena Windsong Sociology elena.windsong@colostate.edu