Dean's Staff Directory

Leadership

DEAN

Ben Withers

Ph.D. in Art History, University of Chicago

Ben Withers is dean of the College of Liberal Arts at Colorado State University. With a Ph.D. in art history, and a focus on medieval art, Withers has worked at Indiana University South Bend and University of Kentucky before coming to Colorado State. As a former department chair, honors program director, associate provost for undergraduate education, and dean of undergraduate studies, Withers has a track record of expanding and strengthening undergraduate programs, promoting multidisciplinary collaborations, fundraising, and supporting diversity and inclusion. A two-time all-state musician in high school, Withers attended Carleton College, a small liberal arts college in Northfield, Minnesota, for his undergraduate studies. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Chicago.

Ben.Withers@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5421

ASSOCIATE DEANS

Michael Carolan

Professor of Sociology; Associate Dean for Research & Graduate Affairs

Ph.D. in Sociology, Iowa State University

michael.carolan@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5797

Roze Hentschell

Professor, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies

Ph.D. in English, University of California, Santa Barbara

roze.hentschell@colostate.edu

(970) 491-6158

Alexandra Bernasek

Sr. Associate Dean, Professor

Ph.D University of Michigan

Alexandra.Bernasek@colostate.edu

970-491-3454

PROGRAM DIRECTORS

Kevin Foskin

Director, Interdisciplinary Liberal Arts

MFA in Fine/Studio Arts and Fiction, Colorado State University

Kevin.Foskin@colostate.edu

(970) 491-2259

Andrea Duffy

Director, International Studies

Ph.D., History, Georgetown University, 2013

Andrea.Duffy@Colostate.EDU

970-491-5421; For advising appointments: 970-491-3117

Advising

Academic Support Coordinators
The Advising Team

Office Located at C207 Clark

Over 15 liberal arts academic success coordinators will help you decide which major and courses fit into your path.

Contact the office by email, phone or in person.

CLAadvising@colostate.edu
(970) 491-3117

Click here to visit the website

 

Elizabeth Terry-Emmot

Director, Academic Success Coordinator

Communications

Beth Etter

Director of Communications

M.A. in English, Colorado State University

beth.etter@colostate.edu

(970) 491-2374

Nicolle McMurray

Digital Media Specialist

B.S. in Business Administration and B.A. in Journalism & Media Communication, Colorado State University

nicolle.mcmurray@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5502

Development

Tonya Malik-Carson

Director of Development

MFA, London International School of the Performing Arts; MBA, Colorado State University

Tonya.Malik-Carson@colostate.edu

(970) 491-3558

Shannon Dale

Assistant Director of Development

M.A. English, Colorado State University

shannon.dale@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5120

Savannah Kacher

Assistant Director of Development

B.A. in Cultural Anthropology and Journalism, Wheaton College

Savannah.Kacher@colostate.edu

(970) 491-4030

Kelly McDonnell

Donor Relations & Operations Coordinator

B.A. Environmental Science

kelly.mcdonnell@colostate.edu

970-491-0227

Holly Fink

Development Assistant

Cultural Anthropology and Sociology, Colorado State University

cla-development_workstudy@colostate.edu

Finance & Budget

Wes Scharf

Financial Officer

Master of Business Administration, University of Colorado

Wes.Scharf@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5398

Dawn Rumley

Accounting Tech

Associate's Degree in English

Dawn.Rumley@colostate.edu

(970) 491-3737

IT

Bryan Gillispie

Director, I.T.

Master of Business Administration

bryan.gillispie@colostate.edu

(970) 491-2223

Bonnie Botello

Systems Administrator

B.S. in Business Administration

bbotello@colostate.edu

(970) 491-2241

Katie Lungren

IT Coordinator

B.A. in Anthropology, Colorado State University

Katie.Lungren@colostate.edu

970-491-2807

John Russell

Web Design and Development Coordinator

B.S. in Digital Art and Design

john.russell@colostate.edu

(970) 492-4051

Brennen Kaylor

Web Designer

B.A. in Interdisciplinary Liberal Arts

Brennen.Kaylor@colostate.edu

970-491-4904

Operations

Colleen Weitzel

Assistant to the Dean for Internal Relations

B.A. in Journalism and Technical Communication, Colorado State University

Colleen.Weitzel@colostate.edu

(970) 491-7191

Magdeline Golnar

Administrative Assistant

BFA in Graphic Design, Colorado State University

Magdeline.Golnar@colostate.edu

(970) 491-6494

Recruitment

Erika Pepmeyer

Recruitment Coordinator

Masters in Computer Information Systems (Expected May '20)

erika.pepmeyer@colostate.edu

Office (970) 491-1194; Cell (970) 821-5276

Research

Catherine Coleman Kane

Director of Research Support

B.S. in Public Relations, University of Florida

Catherine.Kane@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5394