Dean's Staff Directory

Leadership

DEAN

Benjamin Withers

Ph.D. in Art History, University of Chicago

Ben Withers is dean of the College of Liberal Arts at Colorado State University. With a Ph.D. in art history, and a focus on medieval art, Withers has worked at Indiana University South Bend and University of Kentucky before coming to Colorado State. As a former department chair, honors program director, associate provost for undergraduate education, and dean of undergraduate studies, Withers has a track record of expanding and strengthening undergraduate programs, promoting multidisciplinary collaborations, fundraising, and supporting diversity and inclusion. A two-time all-state musician in high school, Withers attended Carleton College, a small liberal arts college in Northfield, Minnesota, for his undergraduate studies. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Chicago.

Ben.Withers@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5421

ASSOCIATE & ASSISTANT DEANS

Michael Carolan

Professor of Sociology; Associate Dean for Research & Faculty Development

Ph.D. in Sociology, Iowa State University

michael.carolan@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5797

Roze Hentschell

Professor, Associate Dean for Academic Programs

Ph.D. in English, University of California, Santa Barbara

roze.hentschell@colostate.edu

(970) 491-6158

Ryan Claycomb

Professor, Interim Assistant Dean

PhD, University of Maryland, College Park

ryan.claycomb@colostate.edu

Advising

Academic Support Coordinators
The Advising Team

Office Located at C207 Clark

Over 15 liberal arts academic success coordinators will help you decide which major and courses fit into your path.

Contact the office by email, phone or in person.

CLAadvising@colostate.edu
(970) 491-3117

Click here to visit the website

 

Elizabeth Terry-Emmot

Director, Academic Success Coordinator

Communications

Elizabeth Etter

Director of Communications

M.A. in English, Colorado State University

Beth.Etter@colostate.edu

(970) 491-2374

Nicolle McMurray

Digital Media Specialist

B.S. in Business Administration and B.A. in Journalism & Media Communication, Colorado State University

nicolle.mcmurray@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5502

Rachel Gaisford

Project Coordinator and Content Specialist

B.S. in Public Relations, Minor in Sociology, Northern Arizona University

Rachel.Gaisford@colostate.edu

970-491-5655

Development

Tonya Malik-Carson

Director of Development

MFA, London International School of the Performing Arts; MBA, Colorado State University

Tonya.Malik-Carson@colostate.edu

(970) 491-3558

Kevin Weaver

Associate Director of Development

M.Ed., University of North Texas

kevin.weaver@colostate.edu

970-491-5120

Leighanne Alford

Assistant Director of Development

Hendrix College, B.A. Psychology

Leighanne.Alford@colostate.edu

970.491.4030

Kelly McDonnell

Donor Relations & Operations Coordinator

B.A. Environmental Science

kelly.mcdonnell@colostate.edu

970-491-0227

Finance & Human Resources

Wes Scharf

Financial Officer

Master of Business Administration, University of Colorado

Wes.Scharf@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5398

Dawn Rumley

Accounting Tech

Associate's Degree in English

Dawn.Rumley@colostate.edu

(970) 491-3737

Lillian Nugent

Budget Manager

MS, Organizational Leadership

Lillian.Nugent@ColoState.edu

970-491-6429

Sarah Blessinger

Human Resources Officer

MS/Psychology; BA/English

Sarah.Blessinger@colostate.edu

970-492-4080

Sarah Schwister

Human Resources Junior Partner

Human Resources Management BS; Creative Writing BA

Sarah.Schwister@colostate.edu

970-491-2231

Jenna Milliman

Human Resources Junior Partner

B.S. in Human Resources and Anthropology, Marquette University

jenna.milliman@colostate.edu

IT

Bryan Gillispie

Director, I.T.

Master of Business Administration; B.S. Computer Information Systems; B.S. Business Admnistration - Management Information Systems

bryan.gillispie@colostate.edu

(970) 491-2223

Bonnie Botello

Systems Administrator

B.S. in Business Administration

bbotello@colostate.edu

(970) 491-2241

John Russell

Web Design and Development Coordinator

B.S. in Digital Art and Design

John.Russell@colostate.edu

(970) 492-4051

Brennen Kaylor

Web Designer

B.A. in Interdisciplinary Liberal Arts

Brennen.Kaylor@colostate.edu

970-491-4904

Operations

Colleen Weitzel

Assistant to the Dean for Internal Relations

B.A. in Journalism and Technical Communication, Colorado State University

Colleen.Weitzel@colostate.edu

(970) 491-7191

Sadie Kinney-McGrath

Project Coordinator

B.S. in Psychology, Colorado State University

Sadie.Kinney-McGrath@colostate.edu

(970) 491-6494

Recruitment

Jessica Rencher

CLA Recruitment Coordinator

Human Resources and Education M.Ed.

jessica.rencher@colostate.edu

Research

Catherine Coleman Kane

Director of Research Support

B.S. in Public Relations, University of Florida

Catherine.Kane@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5394

Scholarships

Cole Wise

Scholarship and Student Program Coordinator

B.A. in Political Science, Colorado State University

cole.wise@colostate.edu

970-491-3017

Student Employees

Grace Weintrob

Dean's Office Assistant

Communication Studies Student

cla_deanstudents@Mail.colostate.edu

Gemma Buhaenko

Dean's Office Assistant

School of Social Work, Colorado State University; American Sign Language (ASL), Colorado State University

Gemma.Buhaenko@colostate.edu

Rachel Macias

Graphic Design Intern

BFA Graphic Design (May2021)

Rachel.Macias@colostate.edu