Dean's Staff Directory

Leadership

DEAN

Benjamin Withers

(970) 491-5421

Ben.Withers@colostate.edu

  • Ph.D. in Art History, University of Chicago

Benjamin C. Withers has been dean of the College of Liberal Arts at Colorado State University since 2016. In this role, Withers is responsible for $43M in annual expenditures, 13 academic departments/schools and six interdisciplinary programs, 539 faculty, 107 staff, and 6780 undergraduate and graduate students.

In 2020 and 2021, President Joyce McConnell appointed Withers as a member of the President’s Pandemic Planning Team and as co-chair of the Teaching Continuity and Recovery task force, a group that met consistently throughout the pandemic to ensure the excellence of CSU’s academic mission and the safety of CSU’s people. He has served as a member of then President Tony Frank’s President’s Commission on Culture, the College Board’s AP Higher Education Advisory Committee, and FoCO Creates which created the strategic plan for the City of Fort Collins.

Click Benjamin Withers above to read his full bio.

ASSOCIATE & ASSISTANT DEANS

Michael Carolan

  • Professor of Sociology
  • Associate Dean for Research
  • Co-Director, Food Systems Institute for Research, Engagement and Learning
  • Engagement and Extension Food Systems Specialist

michael.carolan@colostate.edu

  • Ph.D. in Sociology, Iowa State University

Roze Hentschell

  • Senior Associate Dean for Academic Programs
  • Professor of English
  • Interim Chief Academic Officer, CSU System

(970) 491-6158

roze.hentschell@colostate.edu

  • Ph.D. in English, University of California, Santa Barbara

Ryan Claycomb

  • Professor of English and Theatre
  • Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

970.491.6551

ryan.claycomb@colostate.edu

  • PhD, University of Maryland, College Park

Elinor Light

  • Senior Instructor
  • Assistant Dean for Student Success, College of Liberal Arts

Elinor.Light@colostate.edu

  • Ph.D., Communication, University of Utah M.A., Colorado State University

Albert Bimper

  • Associate Dean and Executive Director of Professional Master’s Programs
  • Associate Professor

Albert.Bimper@colostate.edu

  • B.A. Colorado State University, M.A. Purdue University, Ph.D. Univeristy of Texas

Advising

Carol Erwin

  • Director, Liberal Arts Academic Support Center

Carol.Erwin@colostate.edu

  • B.S.E in English
  • M.A. in English
  • Ph.D. in English

Office Located at C207 Clark

Over 15 liberal arts academic success coordinators will help you decide which major and courses fit into your path.

Contact the office by email, phone or in person.

CLAadvising@colostate.edu
(970) 491-3117

Click here to visit the website

 

College of Liberal Arts Advising

Communications & Recruitment

Beth Etter

  • Director of Communications

(970) 491-2374

Beth.Etter@colostate.edu

  • M.A. in English, Colorado State University

Nicolle McMurray

  • Digital Media Specialist

(970) 491-5502

nicolle.mcmurray@colostate.edu

  • B.S. in Business Administration and B.A. in Journalism & Media Communication, Colorado State University

Ellie Crowley

  • Marketing and PR Specialist

ellie.crowley@colostate.edu

  • B.A. in Business, Southwestern University

Ray Hecht

  • Recruitment and Enrollment Coordinator

(970) 821-5276

Ray.Hecht@colostate.edu

  • B.S. Occupational Safety and Health, Murray State University

Development

Kevin Weaver

  • Managing Director of Development

970-491-5120

kevin.weaver@colostate.edu

  • M.Ed., University of North Texas

Lara Meyer

  • Associate Director of Development

(970) 491-7866

lara.meyer@colostate.edu

  • Grinnell College, BA
  • Colorado School of Public Health, MPH

Emily Schwartz

  • Associate Director of Development

970-491-7397

emily.schwartz@colostate.edu

  • B.A. Communication Studies, University of Montana

Kelly McDonnell

  • Donor Relations & Operations Coordinator

970-491-0227

kelly.mcdonnell@colostate.edu

  • B.A. Environmental Science

Finance & Human Resources

Wes Scharf

  • Financial Officer

(970) 491-5398

Wes.Scharf@colostate.edu

  • Master of Business Administration, University of Colorado

Becca McCarty

  • Senior Human Resources Manager

becca.e.mccarty@colostate.edu

  • Bachelor's Degree Colorado State University
  • Master's Degree Colorado State University

Sarah Schwister

  • Human Resources Junior Partner

970-491-2231

Sarah.Schwister@colostate.edu

  • Human Resources Management BS
  • Creative Writing BA

Jenna Milliman

  • Human Resources Junior Partner

jenna.milliman@colostate.edu

  • B.S. in Human Resources and Anthropology, Marquette University

Kaitlin Bachle

  • Human Resources Assistant

kaitlin.bachle@colostate.edu

  • B.A. in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology

Lillian Nugent

  • Budget Manager

970-491-6429

Lillian.Nugent@ColoState.edu

  • MS, Organizational Leadership

Dawn Rumley

  • Accounting Tech

(970) 491-3737

Dawn.Rumley@colostate.edu

  • Associate's Degree in English

IT

Bryan Gillispie

  • Director, I.T.

(970) 491-2223

bryan.gillispie@colostate.edu

  • Master of Business Administration
  • B.S. Computer Information Systems
  • B.S. Business Admnistration - Management Information Systems

Bonnie Botello

  • Systems Administrator

(970) 491-2241

bbotello@colostate.edu

  • Master of Computer Information Systems (M.C.I.S.)

Alex Brown

  • IT Coordinator

(970) 491-2807

alex.brown@colostate.edu

  • B.A in Economics
  • Master of Computer Information Systems

John Russell

  • Web Developer

(970) 492-4051

John.Russell@colostate.edu

  • B.S. in Digital Art and Design

Brennen Kaylor

  • Web Designer

970-491-4904

Brennen.Kaylor@colostate.edu

  • B.A. in Interdisciplinary Liberal Arts

Operations

Colleen Weitzel

  • Assistant to the Dean

(970) 491-7191

Colleen.Weitzel@colostate.edu

  • B.A. in Journalism and Technical Communication, Colorado State University

Sadie Kinney-McGrath

  • Project Coordinator

(970) 491-6494

Sadie.Kinney-McGrath@colostate.edu

  • B.S. in Psychology, Colorado State University

Betty Sims

  • Scholarship and Student Program Coordinator

Betty.Sims@colostate.edu

  • M.A. in Social Justice and Human Rights, Arizona State University

Stephanie Wagner

  • Administrative Coordinator

Stephanie.A.Wagner@colostate.edu

  • Bachelor of Social Work at University of Kansas
  • Master of Social Work at Loyola University Chicago

Emily Lee

  • Assistant to the Program Director

leeem@colostate.edu

  • B.S. Strategic Communications- Public Relations

Research

Ann Claycomb

  • Director of Faculty Recognition

(970) 556-4633

ann.claycomb@colostate.edu

  • Masters in Fine Arts, Fiction Writing
  • Masters, English Literature
  • BA, English (honors) and Psychology

Catherine Coleman Kane

  • Director of Research Support

(970) 491-5394

Catherine.Kane@colostate.edu

  • B.S. in Public Relations, University of Florida

Student Employees

Grace Weintrob

  • Dean's Office Assistant

cla_deanstudents@Mail.colostate.edu

  • Communication Studies Student

Bianca de Toledo Piza

  • Dean's Office Assistant

biancatp@colostate.edu

  • Psychology Student