Dean's Staff Directory

Leadership

DEAN

Benjamin Withers

Ph.D. in Art History, University of Chicago

Ben.Withers@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5421

Benjamin C. Withers has been dean of the College of Liberal Arts at Colorado State University since 2016. In this role, Withers is responsible for $43M in annual expenditures, 13 academic departments/schools and six interdisciplinary programs, 539 faculty, 107 staff, and 6780 undergraduate and graduate students.

In 2020 and 2021, President Joyce McConnell appointed Withers as a member of the President’s Pandemic Planning Team and as co-chair of the Teaching Continuity and Recovery task force, a group that met consistently throughout the pandemic to ensure the excellence of CSU’s academic mission and the safety of CSU’s people. He has served as a member of then President Tony Frank’s President’s Commission on Culture, the College Board’s AP Higher Education Advisory Committee, and FoCO Creates which created the strategic plan for the City of Fort Collins.

Click Benjamin Withers above to read his full bio.

ASSOCIATE & ASSISTANT DEANS

Michael Carolan

Professor of Sociology; Associate Dean for Research & Faculty Development

Ph.D. in Sociology, Iowa State University

michael.carolan@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5797

Roze Hentschell

Professor, Associate Dean for Academic Programs

Ph.D. in English, University of California, Santa Barbara

roze.hentschell@colostate.edu

(970) 491-6158

Ryan Claycomb

Professor, Interim Associate Dean

PhD, University of Maryland, College Park

ryan.claycomb@colostate.edu

Elinor Light

Senior Instructor; Assistant Dean for Student Success, College of Liberal Arts

Ph.D., Communication, University of Utah M.A., Colorado State University

Elinor.Light@colostate.edu

Advising

Academic Support Coordinators
The Advising Team

Office Located at C207 Clark

Over 15 liberal arts academic success coordinators will help you decide which major and courses fit into your path.

Contact the office by email, phone or in person.

CLAadvising@colostate.edu
(970) 491-3117

Click here to visit the website

 

Elizabeth Terry-Emmot

Director, Academic Success Coordinator

Communications & Recruitment

Elizabeth Etter

Director of Communications

M.A. in English, Colorado State University

Beth.Etter@colostate.edu

(970) 491-2374

Nicolle McMurray

Digital Media Specialist

B.S. in Business Administration and B.A. in Journalism & Media Communication, Colorado State University

nicolle.mcmurray@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5502

Maria Do

Project Manager & Marketing Specialist

B.A. Mass Communications

maria.q.do@colostate.edu

Raymond Hecht

Recruitment and Enrollment Coordinator

B.S. Occupational Safety and Health, Murray State University

Ray.Hecht@colostate.edu

(970) 821-5276

Development

Kevin Weaver

Managing Director of Development

M.Ed., University of North Texas

kevin.weaver@colostate.edu

970-491-5120

Leighanne Alford

Assistant Director of Development

Hendrix College, B.A. Psychology

Leighanne.Alford@colostate.edu

970.491.4030

Kelly McDonnell

Donor Relations & Operations Coordinator

B.A. Environmental Science

kelly.mcdonnell@colostate.edu

970-491-0227

Finance & Human Resources

Wes Scharf

Financial Officer

Master of Business Administration, University of Colorado

Wes.Scharf@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5398

Dawn Rumley

Accounting Tech

Associate's Degree in English

Dawn.Rumley@colostate.edu

(970) 491-3737

Lillian Nugent

Budget Manager

MS, Organizational Leadership

Lillian.Nugent@ColoState.edu

970-491-6429

Sarah Blessinger

Human Resources Officer

MS/Psychology; BA/English

Sarah.Blessinger@colostate.edu

970-492-4080

Sarah Schwister

Human Resources Junior Partner

Human Resources Management BS; Creative Writing BA

Sarah.Schwister@colostate.edu

970-491-2231

Jenna Milliman

Human Resources Junior Partner

B.S. in Human Resources and Anthropology, Marquette University

jenna.milliman@colostate.edu

Kaitlin Bachle

Human Resources Assistant

B.A. in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology

kaitlin.bachle@colostate.edu

IT

Bryan Gillispie

Director, I.T.

Master of Business Administration; B.S. Computer Information Systems; B.S. Business Admnistration - Management Information Systems

bryan.gillispie@colostate.edu

(970) 491-2223

Bonnie Botello

Systems Administrator

B.S. in Business Administration

bbotello@colostate.edu

(970) 491-2241

Alex Brown

IT Coordinator

B.A in Economics

alex.brown@colostate.edu

(970) 491-2807

John Russell

Web Design and Development Coordinator

B.S. in Digital Art and Design

John.Russell@colostate.edu

(970) 492-4051

Brennen Kaylor

Web Designer

B.A. in Interdisciplinary Liberal Arts

Brennen.Kaylor@colostate.edu

970-491-4904

Operations

Colleen Weitzel

Assistant to the Dean

B.A. in Journalism and Technical Communication, Colorado State University

Colleen.Weitzel@colostate.edu

(970) 491-7191

Sadie Kinney-McGrath

Project Coordinator

B.S. in Psychology, Colorado State University

Sadie.Kinney-McGrath@colostate.edu

(970) 491-6494

Research

Catherine Coleman Kane

Director of Research Support

B.S. in Public Relations, University of Florida

Catherine.Kane@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5394

Student Employees

Grace Weintrob

Dean's Office Assistant

Communication Studies Student

cla_deanstudents@Mail.colostate.edu

Gemma Buhaenko

Dean's Office Assistant

School of Social Work, Colorado State University; American Sign Language (ASL), Colorado State University

Gemma.Buhaenko@colostate.edu