• Music

Student Types

  • Current
  • Transfer

Class Levels

  • Junior
  • Senior
  • Sophomore

Resident Statuses

  • Colorado Resident
  • Non-Resident

Scholarship Type

  • Merit

Required GPA

Established in 2006, this award honors Andreas Makris and is made possible by the generosity of Margaret Makris.


1) Full or part-time student majoring in Music 2) Maintain overall 2.5 GPA 3) Brass, woodwind, percussion or strings player


Margaret Makris established this scholarship in memory of her husband of 45 years, Andreas Makris (1930-2005), and to honor his contributions to the world of music and composing. Andreas Makris came to America from Greece in 1950 on a Rockefeller Grant to attend college. He and Margaret Lubbe were married in 1959. Makris was a violinist in the Dallas Symphony and the St. Louis Symphony before holding the position of First Violin in the National Symphony Orchestra from 1961 to 1990. Makris continued to compose after an injury ended his performing career. He is best known for his "Aegean Festival" which band students in a national survey listed among their top ten favorite pieces, probably due to the fact that its asymmetric rhythms were their first introduction to odd meter and Greek music. He was an advocate for youth and was always happy to compose for and visit youth orchestras and student bands. He and his wife, Margaret, a retired kindergarten teacher, sponsored the Makris Woodwind competition for youth at Colorado State University. Andreas felt that America, its people and its musical institutions presented him with great opportunities throughout his career and he enjoyed giving back and supporting youth.